## 1 NOV 22

## SCHAU STUTTGART SPIEL

## THE 2022 EUROPEAN DRAMA AWARD WILL NOT BE CONFERRED

In April, the jury appointed by Schauspiel Stuttgart (Stuttgart Theatre Company) had decided to present the 2022 European Drama Award to British playwright Caryl Churchill for her life's work. The award, endowed with €75,000, is given out by Schauspiel Stuttgart and is sponsored by the Baden-Württemberg Ministry of Science, Research and Arts. After renewed deliberation yesterday (October 31<sup>st</sup>), the jury decided to retract its decision and to cancel the European Drama Award this year. The jury was made aware of previously unknown information shortly prior to the weekend.

"The 2022 European Drama Award jury had chosen the British playwright Caryl Churchill for the European Drama Award in recognition of her life's work. However, we have meanwhile become aware of the author's signatures in support of Boycott, Divestment and Sanctions. The play *Seven Jewish Children* can also be regarded as being anti-Semitic. Therefore, to our great regret, the jury has decided not to confer the prize this year," the jury stated.

The State Government of Baden-Württemberg supported the recommendation of the jury. Arts Minister Petra Olschowski said: "In Germany, we have a special historical responsibility. That is why we as a country take a clear and non-negotiable stance against any form of anti-Semitism. This is all the more reason why a prize funded by the state cannot be awarded under the given circumstances. In my view, it was crucial that the jury reacted immediately and made its position clear."

Julia Schubart Spokeswoman of Schauspiel Stuttgart (Stuttgart Theatre Company) julia.schubart@staatstheater-stuttgart.de T: +49 (0) 711 2032 -262 www.schauspiel-stuttgart.de



Stuttgart Schauspiel artistic director Burkhard C. Kosminski: "Schauspiel Stuttgart understands the jury's decision and supports it. We deeply regret these developments."

Discussions are still ongoing about how the prize money should be used.

## EUROPEAN DRAMA AWARD OF SCHAUSPIEL STUTTGART

The European Drama Award is endowed with €75,000 and is given every two years by Schauspiel Stuttgart. The award, sponsored by the Baden-Württemberg Ministry of Arts, honours European authors for their outstanding lifetime works.

The first prize winner in 2020 was the playwright, director, actor and theatre director Wajdi Mouawad, who lives in France.

As in 2020, the jury consisted of the following persons: Barbara Engelhardt (Director of the Maillon Theater in Strasbourg), Peter Kümmel (theatre critic and literary editor of the *Die Zeit* weekly newspaper), Peter Michalzik (author, chairman of the jury), Petra Olschowski (then state secretary in the Ministry of Science, Research and Arts in Baden-Württemberg) and Thomas Ostermeier (director and artistic director of the Schaubühne Berlin).

Julia Schubart Spokeswoman of Schauspiel Stuttgart (Stuttgart Theatre Company) <u>julia.schubart@staatstheater-stuttgart.de</u> T: +49 (0) 711 2032 -262 www.schauspiel-stuttgart.de